Owls of Wisdom

Kindergarten Readiness:

Ages 4 - 5 


All lessons plans come from the Pennsylvania Learning Standards for Early Education.


English Language Arts Standard Area

Foundational Skills

Reading Informational Text 

Reading Literature


Speaking and Listening 


Mathematical Thinking and Expression Standard Area

Numbers and Operations

Algebraic Concepts


Measurement, Data, and Probability 


Scientific Thinking and Technology Standard Area

Biological Sciences

Physical Sciences

Earth and Space Sciences

Computer and Information Technology


Social and Emotional Development Standard Area

Self-Awareness and Self

Establishing and Maintaining Relationships

Decision-Making and Responsible Behavior


Communicating through the Arts Standard Area

Music and Movement

Dramatic and Performance Play  

Visual Arts and Crafts


Approaches to Learning through Play

Constructing and Gathering Knowledge

Organizing and Understanding Information 

Applying Knowledge 

Learning through Experience

Who:  Krista Brown

What:  Kindergarten Readiness Teacher

When:  Part of the Best Day Ever! Learning Center team since May 2014

Where:  Attended the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford obtaining a degree in Computer Science. Worked in field from 1985 - 1991. Stay at Home Mom for 10 years, Sunday School/Vacation Bible School Teacher, and Girl Scout Leader. Became a Preschool Teacher in 2001 earning over 120 Continuing Education Units from the Westmoreland County Community College and Penn State Cooperative Extension.

Why:  I became a Preschool Teacher because I discovered a passion for helping young children.  I love watching them learn and achieve new milestones. I take great pride in preparing them for Kindergarten. I am attentive to the expectations of the elementary schools surrounding our area.  My goal is to ensure that we are preparing our children at the center for academic and social success in their Kindergarten year!

“Anyone who does anything to help a child in his life is a hero to me.”

- Fred Rogers

© 2018. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • w-facebook
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon

Call Us: 724.989.6511   /   bdelearningcenter@gmail.com  /  1300 Broad St.; Greensburg, PA 15601